Organizational chart (text version)

The Facility for Rare Isotope Beams (FRIB) will be a new scientific user facility for nuclear science, funded by the Department of Energy Office of Science (DOE-SC), Michigan State University (MSU), and the State of Michigan. The FRIB Project organization chart shows the relationship between MSU and the DOE-SC. 

Michigan State University

  • President – John Engler (Interim)

    • Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs – June Youatt (Provost)
    • Executive Vice President for Administrative Service – Satish Udpa

U.S. Department of Energy

  • Office of Science

    • Director (Acting) (SC-1) – Steve Binkley
    • Deputy Director for Science Programs (SC-2)  Steve Binkley

    • Office of Nuclear Physics
      • Associate Director (SC-26) – Timothy Hallman
      • Director, Facilities and Project Management Division (SC-26.2) – Jehanne Gillo
        • FRIB Project Officer (SC-26.2) – James Hawkins
        • FRIB Federal Project Director (CHO) – Ronald Lutha
        • FRIB Federal Project Deputy Director (CHO) – Jerry Kao

The FRIB Project reports through the MSU executive vice president for academic affairs and the executive vice president for administrative affairs to the MSU President, and also interfaces with the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science Office of Nuclear Physics.

Facility for Rare Isotope Beams (FRIB)

  • Laboratory Director and Project Director – Thomas Glasmacher

    • Deputy Laboratory Director and FRIB Project Manager – Paul Mantica
    • Executive Laboratory Director - Richard Jacobson
    • Scientific Director - Brad Sherrill
    • Chief of Staff – Robert Patterer
    • Chief Engineer – Dan Stout
    • Chief Scientist – Witold Nazarewicz
    • Environmental Safety Health & Quality Manager – Peter Grivins
    • Project Controls Manager – Lynda Schneider
    • Procurement Manager – Thomas Nowak
    • Fiscal Officer – Sue Hopper
    • Communications Manager – Karen King
    • Senior Consultant – Elaine Yakura
    • Administrative Support – Katie Pease

The FRIB Project is comprised of four divisions:

  1. Accelerator Systems Division 

    • Division Director – Jie Wei
      • Deputy Director – Yoshishige Yamazaki
      • Associate Director for Accelerator Physics & Upgrades  Peter Ostroumov
      • Associate Director for Cryogenics and Cryomodules – Fabio Casagrande
      • Commissioning Manager – Masanori Ikegami
      • Project Electrical Engineer – Thomas Russo
      • Senior Advisor for Controls – Bob Dalesio
      • Senior Advisor for SRF – Alberto Facco
      • Administrative Support – Amy McCausey
  2. Experimental Systems Division 

    • Division Director – Georg Bollen
      • Project Engineer – Aftab Hussain
      • Senior Advisor – Toshiyuki Kubo
      • Administrative Support – Anastasia Lesage
  3. Conventional Facilities and Infrastructure Planning

    • Division Director – Brad Bull
      • Deputy Director and Project Engineer - Chris Thronson
      • Administrative Support - Carly LaFeve
  4. Business Support Organization

    • Financial Operations – Lynda Schneider
    • Business Operations – Thomas Nowak 
    • Human Resources – LaConya Murchison
    • Chief Engineer - Dan Stout
    • Environmental Safety & Quality - Peter Grivins
    • Business IT - Clinton Jones
    • Fiscal Officer – Sue Hopper
    • Administrative Support - Robert Patterer
    • Communications - Karen King
    • Export Controls Trade Sanction Compliance - Chris Townsend
    • Security – Aaron Smith
    • Homeland Security Officer – Melissa Congleton

FRIB Advisory Committees

The FRIB Project is advised by five external advisory committees. Their members are experts in areas important to the success of FRIB: 

  1. President’s Project Advisory Committee (PPAC): PPAC provides external advice on FRIB activities to the MSU President and Provost.

  2. Science Advisory Committee (SAC): The SAC provides external advice to the FRIB Laboratory Director/Project Director on scientific choices, scientific vision, and matters related to optimizing the scientific discovery potential of FRIB. The SAC is comprised of eminent scientists, most with extensive rare-isotope science expertise.

    • Chair – David Dean
  3. Accelerator Systems Advisory Committee (ASAC): ASAC is charged by the FRIB Project Manager and provides external advice on matters related to accelerator systems to the FRIB Project Team.

    • Chair – Robert Laxdal
  4. Experimental Systems Advisory Committee (ESAC): ESAC is charged by the FRIB Project Manager and provides external advice on matters related to experimental systems to the FRIB Project Team.

    • Chair – James Kerby
  5. Environmental, Safety and Health Advisory Committee (ESHAC): ESHAC is charged by the FRIB Project Manager and provides external advice on matters related to environmental, health, and safety issues to the FRIB Project Team.

    • Chair – Donald Cossairt

National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory

The FRIB Project is part of the FRIB Laboratory, the equivalent of a college, within MSU. The FRIB Laboratory is comprised of the FRIB Project and the National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory (NSCL). 

  • NSCL Director - Brad Sherrill

  • NSCL Chief Scientist - Alexandra Gade

  • Administrative Support - Donna Besinger

FRIB Users Organization

The FRIB Users Organization is a group whose members are interested in FRIB for the purpose of conducting scientific research and developing new technology. The organization works towards the realization and timely construction of FRIB and the development of its instrumentation and physics program, and advocates for the needs of the FRIB user community during project construction, among other goals.

  • Chair – Heather Crawford